• White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon


Click here so we can help!

Don’t Let a Single Arrest End Your Career!

Has your right to work been taken away from you? If your commercial driver’s license (CDL) has been suspended or disqualified you need to call Jungle Law.  A violation of this magnitude calls for immediate attention.  You have worked hard to earn the privilege of a CDL, don't let it be taken away without someone fighting hard for you.  If you hold a class a, class b or a class c license, your livelihood could be at risk.


Please keep this 14 - 15 day window in mind.  Once this window has passed, the opportunity for the hearing is gone.


A DWI arrest can be stressful and traumatic, especially for first time offenders.  DWI affects not only you, but also your family, your employment and your future endeavors. 


The U.S. Department of Transportation and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) instituted the commercial driver’s license (CDL) program in 1986 in order to make roads and highways safer for everyone.  Due to their size and weight, the damage these special vehicles can cause in an accident is significant.

If you hold a CDL, you’re treated differently under the law.  Even a minor infraction could result in your CDL being revoked for a year.  If you are charged with a DUI for a second time, your CDL will be revoked permanently, and you will be disqualified from operating such a vehicle EVER again.

There are two important factors in DUI law for the CDL driver.

-The law considers you under the influence if your blood alcohol level is ONLY .04%.  This is considerably lower than the .08% for all other drivers.

-Under the law, a person that holds a CDL license is treated as a commercial driver even if he is not in the commercial vehicle when arrested.


Under Missouri and Kansas law, a DUI will always result in your CDL license being suspended.  This could ultimately mean that you lose your job, and possibly your CDL license,  permanently.  A CDL driver can only apply for a limited driving privilege to operate private vehicles during the suspension period.  Therefore, it is imperative to fight your DUI charge from the beginning to the end.

Some violations include:

-Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol test

-Committing a felony using your commercial vehicle

-Hit and run


-Reckless driving

-Driving without insurance

-Accumulation of points for traffic offenses

Missouri Point System:


8 points in 18 months

1st suspension:  30 days

2nd suspension:  60 days

3rd or more suspensions:  90 days


12 points in 12 months

License REVOKED for 1 year

If you already have a DUI on your record, you aren't automatically disqualified from being able to obtain a CDL license.   You will need Jungle Law to advocate for you.  It's important to understand that all potential CDL licensees must provide employment history within the last ten years.

Tickets and Points:

If you tend to have a lead foot, don’t let the state of Missouri take away your ability to drive.  Let Jungle Law fight on your behalf and keep you on your way.  The State of Missouri has strict traffic laws and the point system is stacked against you from the start.  If you have accumulated any points, don’t hesitate to call us.

If you accumulate one or two infractions that equal a total of four points or more, you will receive an advisory letter from the Department of Revenue.  If you accumulate a total of eight or more points in 18 months, the Department of Revenue will suspend your driving privileges.​

1st suspension                             30 days

2nd suspension                            60 days

3rd suspension or more              90 days

If you have stacked up 12 or more points in 12 months, the State will revoke your driving privilege for one year.

If you cannot drive due to a suspension, revocation, or denial of your driving privileges, let Jungle Law try and get you a Limited Driving license, while we work through the complicated legal system.  We will get you back on the road, so you are able work and complete your daily activities.

Here are example infractions and the points accumulated:


Driving Under the Influence  (BAC .04)

Stop Sign

Careless and Imprudent driving

No Driver's License, 1st offense


Speeding  (more than 5 miles over posted)


No Driver’s License, 2nd offense

Failure to Produce ID


Excess Blood Alcohol Content, 1st offense

12 PTS

Leaving Scene of the Accident , 2nd Offense

Note that a commercial driver’s history travels when he or she moves from state to state.  If you have been charged with an alcohol related offense while operating any vehicle, call Jungle Law.  We will be glad to answer any of your questions and concerns regarding the incident.

Kansas CDL/DUI:

1.  Purchasing or attempting to purchase any intoxicating liquor.

2.  Possessing any intoxicating liquor.

3.  Being visibly intoxicated.

4.  Having a blood alcohol content level of more than .020 percent.

If a minor is charged with an an alcohol-related offense, it is imperative for you to seek an attorney quickly.  A minor is just starting out in life, and with today’s social media presence, he or she cannot to tarnish a reputation. These charges won't only deter school applications and limit job placement, they can have a life-long effect!

Kansas Specific DUI Penalties

Kansas has DUI penalties that are quite different from Missouri penalties.  

 If you receive a DUI charge while you hold a Kansas commercial drivers license, (CDL) there are special considerations that apply.

Kansas does not use a driver’s license point system.  However, if you are convicted of a CDL violation(s) the penalties are STIFF.  Just on violation could mean you cannot work for 1 year.  With a second conviction your commercial driving career is finished.  DIVERSION is NOT an option for CDL drivers.


In Kansas, if you have a CDL and you are convicted of a First DUI Offense, you will be ordered to spend between 48 hours and 6 months imprisonment your CDL could be suspended for at least 1 year.  


In Kansas, if you have a CDL and are convicted of a second DUI offense, you will be ordered to serve between 90 days and 1 year in PRISON.  You will be fined between $1,250 and $1,750 and in addition have to pay court fees also.  Your license will be suspended for your entire lifetime.  Additionally, as a CDL driver, your CDL will be revoked for life if you are convicted of a second DUI while driving your own personal vehicle.


In Kansas, if you have a CDL and you refused to take the breathilyzer test, your CDL will be suspended for AT LEAST 3 years.  In addition, if you are convicted of a felony while operating a commercial vehicle you will lose your license for life.

This is why you need an experienced CDL Defense Attorney from Jungle Law working for you.  Call 1-833-4-JUNGLE today!


Contact Us Now
Visit Our Offices


2300 Main St. Suite 900

Kansas City, MO 64108

100 South 4th St. Suite 550

St. Louis, MO 63102

1299 Farnam St. Suite 300

Omaha, NE 68102





© 2020 Jungle Law Group, LLC  |  All Rights Reserved  |  Disclaimer  |